ADAPT #35 - 🤘 A Rebel’s Guide to Personal Branding

By Gus Balbontin

Hey!

If you have just signed up for my newsletter, I want to warn you that today’s will be a slightly peculiar one!
Click here and go back to see lots of previous newsletters (this one is #35!!!)

It’s just that I am about to launch my new brand and I wanted to share some thinking around it and hear your thoughts!

We (as individuals), aware or not, have a brand in the same way a business has a brand.

The way in which people see you and experience you is what constitutes your brand.

Perhaps you have a few brands, depending on the context (work, family, friends) - but inevitably there will be common themes across them.

As we all know, a brand is more than a logo, it’s the story, the purpose, the sum of the behaviours and interactions that together build a sense of you in others.

CHALLENGE OF THE WEEK:
This week I challenge you to sit down and understand your current brand and figure out if this is the brand you need or want or feel proud of!

Here are some tricks:
* If you sum up the last 10 experiences others have had with you, what’s the result?
* If someone describes you what would they say?
* What problem would someone have to describe for you to be the perfect fit to solve it?
* What other brands are you associated with that influence yours? (People around you, car you drive? Clothes you wear?)
* If you used the car industry as a comparison point - Is your brand more like a BMW or Toyota or which one? (you can do this with other industries too eg. Tech, Fashion, etc)
* Do you have a sense of purpose? (Go back to my previous newsletter about Ikigai)

Ready to Turn Your Rebellious Thoughts Into Action?

If you’re determined to redefine your brand and career, our Career Rebellion Workshop is just what you need.
We've launched tickets for Cohort 2 in June, designed specifically for those ready to take strategic steps towards significant personal and professional growth.
With limited spots, this intimate setting ensures personalised guidance (by me!!) and supported by a community of like-minded peers.

Join us to transform from inaction to in-action!

Over the last few months, I’ve been busy answering those questions (and more!!).

And here is a summary of the result….

So, as I mentioned above, the first thing I had to answer was what the hell makes me, me?
What do I stand for?
Is there anything unique about me?
Why do I do what I do?
And more!

What is the main challenge that I solve?

After dozens of conversations we landed on:

INACTION

I enjoy motivating and helping people to take action, to simply start and not just talk about it.

I love when my provocations drive humans to fulfil their dreams.

From INACTION to IN-ACTION

How do I do this?

I have had all my life a never-ending flood of REBELLIOUS THOUGHTS
(hey did you realise I changed the name of this newsletter as well!? Probably the header banner was a tell).

I’m always challenging or pushing the boundaries of anything (my pretty wife gets tired of me trying to fix or change everything all the time hahaha).

The problem when I was younger was that my rebellious thoughts sometimes were not received as a positive contribution, when it’s too provocative they can end up scaring people rather than inspiring them.

So over the last few decades as I have evolved and gained more perspective I have turned all these rebellious thoughts into a:

THOUGHTFUL REBELLION

A crazy but calculated set of steps to transform your business, your industry, your career or your life.

My brand pillars are:
Awareness: Be Unrealistic
Willingness: Rethink thoughts
Action: just fuck*** do it!

So my goal is to encourage and help more humans be unrealistic, to reconnect with your Rebellious Thoughts (I know you have them too!), to own your part, to take action and start a Thoughtful Rebellion in your business, career or life!

Here are some of the symbols and fun visual elements - yes all those drawings are mine, if you ever sat down with me for a chat you know how much of my mind ends up in these crazy illegible scribbles full of energy!

This is just a small part of the work I’ve been doing… but before it ends up on my web, socials and keynotes, I thought I would share the story here and of course would love to hear your thoughts! Please indulge me for a bit!

Yew!

Love

Gus

My recommendations:

Earlier this year we ran our first group of our Career Rebellion program.

And you know what?

9 amazing humans graduated and are now building and evolving their portfolio careers.

And you know what else?

THEY LOVED OUR PROGRAM AND SAID IT WILL HAVE A HUGE IMPACT IN THEIR FUTURES!!

Check out some of their feedback:

Thank you for the energy you brought to the Career Workshop. I've gained from it in more ways than just my career, and I'm grateful for the thought and care that went into the programme.

The Career Portfolio workshop has provided clear actions to change course and build the career (and lifestyle) I would like. It has given me the confidence to believe that I can make the needed change. Since the workshop ended, I have taken three small actions and feel comfortable that the Simple, Small, Now approach will get me to where I want to be while stopping to smell the roses.

— Heidi

Gus, thank you for your passion, time, wisdom and authenticity.
Participating in a group forum added a tremendous amount of value and education. It's impact at this early stage can only be measured by means of the workshop sessions and learnings attained - the real work starts now in applying those learnings (which has begun).
The younger me could have benefited doing this course in my late 20's or early 30's. I genuinely feel that I missed the boat and now I'm correcting the steer with what I can do now both professionally and in personal like.

— Nick

Useful framework, easy to follow and makes total sense.
It’s for anyone who feel stuck / plateau or in my case when I didn’t feel fire in my belt.

— Ching

Would absolutely recommend. It's been a great help. I think the principles can be applied at any stage of a career. It teaches you how to set pathways and make decisions based on goals, desires, and needs. The vague goals actually turned out to be the clarifier for me. It made me sit down and actually think about what I want in my career stage.

— Craig

The next group kicks off in JUNE, this is the calendar:

Session 1 (Kick Off) - Tuesday 11th  June

Session 2 - Friday 14th  June

Session 3 - Friday 21st  June

Session 4 - Friday 28th  June

PLUS a 1 HOUR 1-on-1 coaching session with me!

Oh… and more testimonials:

And again… BOOK YOUR SPOT HERE!

MADE IT THIS FAR?! YOU CAN GIVE ME FEEDBACK WITH ONLY 1 CLICK:

What do you think of this email? Tap your choice below and let me hear it 👇

🤘🤘🤘🤘🤘 AMAZING - LOVED IT!

🤘🤘🤘 GOOD!

🤘 MEH - NOT GREAT

HIT REPLY and share your thoughts on what you want to have more in this Newsletter!

Forwarded this email? Sign up here 

Follow me on Instagram and LinkedIn