Rebellious Thoughts #43 - 🤘 From Atoms to Organizations

PLUS: recommended AI tool, recommended Book, and a challenge for you!!

By Gus Balbontin

Hey Rebels!

I’ve got a group challenge for you.

Let’s see if there is indeed a group of Thoughtful Rebels out here.

So far I’ve got 29 people already subscribed to the waiting list…

So this is the DEAL:

If…

I get to at least 50 sign ups,

I’ll do a series of -open Mic? rant, sorta-thingy, called the Rebellious Thought Sessions…

you too can JOIN HERE.

Lucas described it something like:

Rebellious Thought Sessions is a series of monthly talks by Gus Balbontin.

Free flow.
Radical ideas.
Just Gus at his YEWest! 🤘🤘🤘

Oh, oh! and also, the entry will be FREE!

YEW!

Anyways, as always, I promise to provoke you in less than 5 min once a week so that you can stay adaptable and on top of your game!


Short one this week with the kids on school holidays and my sister in town :-)

Let’s go!

Today:

  • Awe: Emergence

  • Deal Flow: AI is changing Search

  • Action: Can’t miss this one

  • Personal: My sis!

  • Try: Bring it on

Read time: 3 min 15 sec

AWE

The concept of Emergence blows my mind.

I sometimes after reading something related to it, turn to my pretty wife and say something like:

“Love is just electrochemical signals”

and she looks at me disappointed trying to add the magic back into it.

Our fates are not guided by planets or mystical energies, we have managed to explain through science the fundamental interactions of atoms and planets.
We now understand that “the magic in love” is simply, or complexly, the trillions and trillions of aligned atomic oxytocin responses aligned in a perfect dance.

That alone is magical… no need to add woo-woo to it.

But, understanding the detail or the way things interact and even being able to simulate it, doesn’t mean you can make sense of it.

Sometimes, we know exactly how it happens and we are still left perplexed (like quantum physics, like love ;-)

Same goes for an organisation or an industry, eventually, you have so many elements in a system dancing and interacting, so many people and suppliers and partners, that the way to understand the entire system is through principles and not detailed analysis.

Sometimes understanding it doesn’t mean it makes sense or you can comprehend how to influence it.

So it is important to stay within the strata, the step in the ladder of emergence that is relevant to the context you want to understand.

Let me say this another way, Emergence is not the converse of reduction, each step you move up the ladder has so many new elements that the complexity exponentially grows, so you have to kinda stick to that level to understand it…going deeper more often than not will not help you.

Eg: you can’t just understand a business and what it does by analysing the detailed conversations of 10,000 people.

Lucky for us we do this fairly intuitively, BUT, sometimes we don’t and I find myself listening to people arguing because they are both trying to explain something happening in a business from different levels (different stratas).

Pay attention to the phenomenon, where else does it happen?

DEAL FLOW

Check out Perplexity.ai - kind of a new way to search - alternative to the typical google search - so def play with it and see what you get from it vs a google search.

I am finding myself more and more moving to chatGPT, Poe and Perplexity and away from Google.

ACTION

And lose yourself in the curious mind of Alan Fletcher who for decades collected the most incredible set of quotes, insights, facts, pictures, and more!

Here are some of the wonderful pages:

CHALLENGE OF THE WEEK:
Read the “The Art of Looking Sideways”

PERSONAL

My sister is in town!

She came to visit from Argentina -

I don’t know if I ever told you this but there are a number of things I was lucky enough to have an older sister to carve the path for me…

Naty is 6 years older than me, so we didn’t really share friends and day-to-day stuff.

When I was little she was more of an idol to me, like the cool person I wanted to become.

She spoke English and French and German and I was like “fuck she’s cool, and language is so easy for her how??” and she had the best taste in music and she would make me so many mixed tapes with the coolest stuff in them.

And she was studying architecture and was drawing with computers and taught me and realised just yesterday that apparently when I was still a baby she was old enough to take care of me a lot while my mum and dad worked!…

So… she def shaped me during some of the most important neurological years.

TRY

Send me something you reckon I haven’t tried, some novelty, see if I can fit it in and write about the challenge!

Love 

Gus

My recommendations:

HEY HEY HEY. You made it up to here… you CAN’T MISS THIS ONE!!

JOIN ME, IT’S FREE!!!

To what?

This:

COME JOIN ME (GUS), HANNAH AND BEN at:
Innovating Culture: AI’s Influence on Making Work Better for a New World
The LAST event of the CULTURE CAN’T BE FIXED Series

AI is not the enemy of culture, it is an ally.

Discover how AI can help you build a thriving culture.

Hear from industry leaders like Ben Hogan, who will share insights on AI's role in fostering innovation;

Hannah Gee, who'll passionately share her belief in retaining humanness at work, and;

Gus Balbontin, who will provide a visionary perspective on the future of AI in the workplace.

Don’t miss out on this chance to see how AI can innovate your workplace culture.

Join us and be part of the conversation that’s paving the way for a brighter, more collaborative future!

P.S. Wonder what I even do in “real life”?

1/ Co-founder and Director at Neu21.
We combine creativity, innovation and insight to create unstoppable organisations and products customers love. Book a Discovery call to learn how we can help your organisation

2/ I coach 7 & 8 figure professionals and help them design their dream lives Book a 1-1 Coaching session with Gus

3/ Join our Career Rebellion Group 3 Waiting List!
A workshop of 4 sessions to bring a thoughtful revolution to your career and your life.

MADE IT THIS FAR?! YOU CAN GIVE ME FEEDBACK WITH ONLY 1 CLICK:

What do you think of this email? Tap your choice below and let me hear it 👇

🤘🤘🤘🤘🤘 AMAZING - LOVED IT!

🤘🤘🤘 GOOD!

HIT REPLY and share your thoughts on what you want to have more in this Newsletter!

Forwarded this email? Sign up here 

Follow me on X and LinkedIn